Path before me

I wonder where this will all go.
Where I will be,
How I will contribute.
Will I be ready if necessary?
Will my children?
How we leave this world?
How will it all end?

Part of me wants to write a book.  Part of me wants to scribe this experience, with the hopes that others will learn from it.  How much value would that add?  Would it even make a difference?

Part of me wants to walk through the halls of higher learning.  I want to understand the issues we are facing in detail.  I want to be an expert.  Perhaps then people will listen to me?  Perhaps then I can divert my full energy to making a difference?

Part of me wants to start a non-profit organization, promoting local food and local artisans.  Perhaps by facing our consumption habits head on, will we realize that true happiness can only be found through connections with others and with nature?

Part of me wants to work for a non-profit organization, pouring my energies into solutions for change, for the good of all, for our communities, for each other.  Can I use my background as a stepping stone to get there?

These are the choices before me.  Which path I will take, I do not know.

English: Path next to the Nutbook Trail

9 thoughts on “Path before me

  1. I think focusing on the local economy is the best thing one can do for the environment. Learning how to do for ourselves not only reduces the amount of goods that need to be transported from away, it also siphons power away from the corporations that are pillaging the planet. I know that’s what I hope to focus on in the coming years.

    Whatever you choose, good luck, Sherry! I think you’re passionate and capable, and I believe in you 🙂

    • Thanks! I feel like there is a fork in the road and that change is on the horizon. Local economy is something I really believe in and live by – something I can most connect to personally. Perhaps this is where I should focus – it certainly does not have the heavy political implications like the other options do!

    • Thanks! I feel like there is a fork in the road and that change is on the horizon. Local economy is something I really believe in and live by – something I can most connect to personally. Perhaps this is where I should focus – it certainly does not have the heavy political implications like the other options do!

  2. That’s a sentiment I can relate to. And when I face uncertainty, I tend to get stuck. Here’s a nice quotation I use to light a fire under my butt, perhaps it can motivate you, too:

    “Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit at home and think about it. Go out and get busy.” – Dale Carnegie

    • That is an awesome quote. I need to do more of that. However I feel really busy already, and frankly, a little burnt out… I think what I need is focus – instead of worrying about all the issues, pick one, and then move forward!

      • Exactly! And there’s no need to worry whether you’ve chosen the right issue. If it’s not right for you, you’ll figure it out soon enough. It’s not like you can’t change your mind and choose something different down the line! Good luck, Sherry.

  3. Hi Sherry, I totally feel where you’re coming from. When you’re busy living green and making everything yourself, there’s less time to devote to the bigger issues. I love the quote Andrea offered and I would be in support of that – explore. experiment. experience. Just try something different. And eventually you’ll come to where you were meant to be. If you’re feeling really busy and burnt out already, simplify as much as you can and put yourself first. Yes to picking one issue and sticking with it. No one can deal with all the issues themselves. We are here as community. Good luck! I’m sure whatever you choose to do will blossom beautifully. Let me know if you need a sounding board for your ideas.

Leave a Reply

