Kick it old school

I am going to kick it old school on this blog. Since I have been blogging for about a year now, I am going to go back to my roots, where I started with this. I am going to bring it full circle. I am going to talk about going green.

Back in the day, before I even started this blog or woke up to the climate change issue, I used to think only people who were hip and cool were going green. I am not sure why I thought that. Perhaps it was because I saw hip and cool models in magazines, showcasing their hemp dresses and organic makeup. Their hair touched only all natural hair products and their flooring was bamboo. They used artisanal soaps and drank local red wine. They were trendsetters, they were cutting edge. Could I be too?

As I flipped the magazine pages and the TV channels, I maintained a quiet indifference. The products were interesting, they were different, but they are probably more expensive. Was the expense worth it? Nah. I kept flipping.

Well it turns out that going green is not expensive, because it is not about buying new stuff. It is about using the materials and resources that pass through your hands with care. This means using less and consuming less. This means making do with what you have. You bake your own, make your own, grow your own. You live on the cheap, not to save money, but because becoming a non-consumer is about as green as you can get. Seriously.

So I didn’t rush out and buy all the new environmentally friendly products. Mostly I stayed home and learned more about my kitchen and more about the food growing potential of my yard. I slowed down and simplified. I fed my children fresh, local organic food. I baked bread. I made meals from scratch. I showered less. I stopped buying new clothes.

So what does going green mean to you? Does it mean becoming trendy and cool? Does it mean becoming a hippie? Does it mean becoming a Suzy homemaker? Does it mean having greasy hair and old clothes?

I am going to start a new series on this blog called Going Green. Each day I will pick a consumption habit, and describe it in terms of a sliding green scale. Where do you fit in the scale? Are you are dabbler, beginner or a hardcore greenie? The sliding green scale will tell all. I will include a poll with each post where you can indicate your comfortable level of green.

Our first topic will be COFFEE. Stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “Kick it old school

  1. Love it, Sherry, I’m so excited to hear about this sea-change on your blog. The format sounds interesting, too.

    What does going green mean to me? It means thinking about the connections between the item I hold in my hand and the planet. What is it made of? Which part of the world did it come from? How was it taken from the earth? How was it processed? What else was added to it? How did it get to me? What will I do with it after I’m done with it? When will it turn back into what it once was? Phew… that’s exhausting.

  2. I am looking forward to see what you do with this. It completely resonates with me but I have a hard time keeping up with the daily reading. I love to hear about others who are examining green.

  3. Pingback: Going Green 1: Coffee | One Earth to Live

    • Thanks for stopping by! I find that my children give me the most inspiration of all. A few weeks ago my 6 year-old son asked me why I was so “environmental”. It’s for you bud, it’s for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

