Resolutions

Ah… a fresh new year, a new decade even. Around this time I always find myself reflecting on the year that passed. My 5-year old son and I actually took our 2010 family calendar down from the fridge this afternoon (the one that is scribbled and scratched upon beyond recognition), and paged through it month by month, remembering the events of the year. Some of it was not so great (such as a hospital stay for my daughter last January for pneumonia) and some of it was wonderful (such as our family vacation to Waterton). I think it helped him better understand the passage of time and the seasons.

With reflection comes resolution for the year ahead. This year – it just feels different. Instead of making my typical resolutions like “exercise more” I am making resolutions that I am really excited to do, not just what I should do. Somehow making resolutions that are less about myself, and more about the world I live in, is way more motivating. Here is what I have come up with:

Resolve to LEARN:
1. How to compost my food and garden waste
2. How to make natural cosmetics and soaps
3. How to make natural household cleaners
4. How to grow a vegetable garden

Resolve to DO:
5. Reduce kilometres traveled in my vehicle
6. Reduce spending on brand new items
7. Track and reduce all energy and water use
8. Become more political

Resolve to WRITE:
9. New weekly series called “Foodie Fridays” – each post will be about eco-food choices and recipes. I decided to do this because it seems like many of the green changes that I am making right now come back to food. Food definitely has its own footprint, both on the planet and on our health. So let’s try to minimize the former while maximizing the latter!

10.  New bi-weekly series called “Letters to Leaders” – each post will be in the form of a letter that I will write and send to either a politician, or a leader of a company. The purpose of this is to lend my voice in a rational and open way, to hopefully engage these people to consider alternatives. I want to start discussions, I want people to take me seriously and I want to share what I am doing with you.

This list beats “exercise more”. Totally beats it! I will inherently be exercising more due to resolution #5, which will undoubtedly involve more walking. This list is so exciting for me, because I will be learning new things and doing new things, and adding my voice to where it is desperately needed. Knowing that I may do some good, not for myself but for others and for our fragile climate, is so much more motivating. I feel more connected, engaged, alive.

Happy New Year.

7 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Great resolutions! I can say that I switched to cleaning with baking soda, vinegar, and lemon juice last year and have been quite pleased with their performance. I don’t typically make resolutions, but I really want to end 2011 with less stuff than I began it. I’ve slowly become less interested in buying and having things and spending my time shopping, and I want my space to reflect it.

    • I know, right? Shopping has gotten to the point of entertainment for some… I want to see if I can avoid buying anything new for the first three months of 2011, and see how that feels! I will have some exceptions, like food, of course but want to see how low I can go.

  2. Great list! I can’t wait to read your ‘Letters to Leaders’. I’ve always thought letter writing might be a worthwhile endeavor, but haven’t collected the gumption to go through with it! I need your help 😛

    • Thanks! I am not sure how the letters will be received, or what kind of feedback I will get (if any). I figure that short and factual and an appeal to common sense and what is in it for them, is the way to go. We will see!

  3. Pingback: Letters to Leaders: Environment Minister Kent | One Earth to Live

  4. Pingback: Nothing New in Review | One Earth to Live

  5. Pingback: I Hope. | One Earth to Live

Leave a Reply

