Natural Woman

I have always been a make-up girl. I started using it in junior high and never looked back. In my 20s I worked at Merle Norman Cosmetics, and gave make-overs. This of course was while I was going to University and studying to be an accountant, go figure! I still do make-up for bridal parties for my friends and family. I guess enjoy making people pretty.

My 2 year-old daughter also enjoys the stuff, and will get her little stool and sneak into my stash when I am not looking. Whenever I am in the bathroom putting on make-up, she comes toddling in, caring her stool, wanting “some too”. Sometimes I let her have some lip gloss for fun.

Then I found Femme Toxic. I knew that some ingredients in some of the lotions and potions we use were questionable, but I never had any facts. Now Femme Toxic has published a “Toxic Twenty” list of chemicals to avoid. It is not all inclusive, but has the worst offenders. So I went looking through my cabinets to see what I had.

It turns out that almost all soaps have sodium lauryl sulfate. Almost all toothpastes have triclosan. Almost all shampoos have parabens. Almost everything has fragrance. These are all ingredients in the Toxic Twenty.

Whoa there! Back up the truck!

Before I let my baby girl put sneak more lip gloss, I have to get to the bottom of this. Why are these ingredients in our products if they are supposed to be bad for us? Don’t the regulators check these things to ensure that everything is safe?

Well everyone has a different opinion, and while most would agree that these ingredients would not be good for anyone in high quantities, the small amounts we use in our products should be okay.

The problem is that not everyone agrees with how much is too much.

With rates of cancer increasing all the time, I just don’t want to take a chance. I want to go au natural. I want to be a natural woman! Okay I am not talking about never using any cosmetics again (we all need to wash, don’t we?), I just want to go for those natural products without the chemicals, and with ingredients I can actually understand.

In short,

  1. I don’t want anything on the “Toxic Twenty” list
  2. The fewer ingredients in the product the better
  3. If it has certified organic ingredients in there, that is good too

So today I went out looking for some natural products. I found some items that look pretty good, including a toothpaste, a day lotion, a deodorant and a body wash. I will try them out and let you know the scoop.

Being aware of the harm that chemicals can have on our bodies will remind us to be aware of the harm that pollution can have on our planet. We both have fragile systems. Besides, the chemicals we use don’t just end up in our bodies; they end up in the water and in the landfills.

Let’s go natural, woman!

3 thoughts on “Natural Woman

  1. I often feel this way too.

    I hate the line “he small amounts we use in our products should be okay.” Even if that were true, and I don’t trust the corporations who make all this stuff enough to really believe them when they say it, the problem is that we use all of this stuff every day, multiple times a day. We often eat, let it absorb into our skins, breathe it into our lungs, etc. Like you said, how much is too much is too much? And how can a consumer possibly find out?

    I’m the opposite way. I just started wearing make-up but in everything else I’m moving toward more natural products. I still use regular shampoo/conditioner and bath soap but only because I have a lot of it and I hate being wasteful. I’ll use it up and then move towards more natural products.
    I already use a mixture of baking soda, cornstarch and water for deodorant (it works really, really well!), I use pure shea butter as a moisturizer, and Tom’s of Maine toothpaste. I’m also looking for a natural way to effectively deal with my mild eczema.

    thanks for this great post and good luck with moving towards more natural products. It’s really not as hard as most make it seem and if you make them yourself it’s usually cheaper.

    • I would love to learn how to make some of the products by myself. It is on my to-do list! Great tip on the deodorant. The natural toothpaste I got is called Jason Powersmile, and it just doesn’t work that well. How do you find yours?

  2. I believe that my Tom’s of Maine toothpaste works pretty well. Although I haven’t done any serious scientific trials. I was making my own toothpaste for awhile but I didn’t find it to work as well. But I was also lazy and chose one of the easiest recipes i found on the internet so that may have been a user error, lol.

Leave a Reply

