Green, Friend?

I am feeling weary.  I might be hitting a wall.  I am so excited to keep making all these green changes in my life, but, I kinda feel all alone.  I want a green friend.

 In short, it is not easy being green (I couldn’t resist):

Seriously though, I have been unsuccessful in even finding another blogger who is doing what I am doing, feeling what I am feeling.  Most environmental blogs that I see are all new-sy, bringing us the latest developments in green energy, green tech, green politics.  There is very little in the way of green living, day by day, and the challenges involved.  Perhaps those bloggers are out there, but I have not found them yet.

 The hardest part has not been air drying the laundry or turning down the thermostat (I am actually getting used to the chill now!) or any of the other green changes that I have been making.  It has been the feeling alone part.  When I go out into the world I see all the consumerism and idling cars and lunch garbage.  All these people obviously don’t feel the same way that I do.  I despair that being alone in this process means that we have such an uphill climb ahead of us.  What if we are not able to all do this thing, change, and save ourselves?

 What if people are too selfish?

 In the end, it must be the love we have for each other that will propel us to change.  There will be no other way.  We must find the love in our hearts, to act to save each other and future generations.  It will take community building on a massive scale.  It will take the coming together of the entire world, all acting for the common good to get this thing done.  We have never seen this before in the history of humankind.  Can we even do it?  Is it even possible? 

 Achieving this, I believe, will signal a new level of human advancement. 

 Won’t it be amazing?

 We are the world
We are the children
We are the ones to make a brighter day
So let’s start giving

 

Look what this group of people did together for Haiti:

This stuff brings tears to my eyes everytime.  There are good people in the world, we do love each other.  We must hold on to hope.

4 thoughts on “Green, Friend?

  1. Pingback: No Impact Man, you impacted me | One Earth to Live

  2. Hi Sherry –
    You are not alone! One thing you will find on this journey of that you are on is that the longer you are on it, the more people you will find who are on it with you. Maude Barlow, another wonderful Canadian activist, said this recently:
    “Do not listen to those who say there is nothing you can do to change the very real and large social and environmental issues of our time. There are serious problems that beset our world. I’m not now talking about a false sense of optimism based on ignoring the very real crises we face, but there is so much room for hope. And such a need to bring joy and excitement to our commitment to a different future. I swear to you this is true. The life of an activist is a good life because you get up in the morning caring about more than just yourself or how to make money. A life of activism gives hope, which is a moral imperative in this work and in this world. It gives us energy and it gives us direction. You meet the nicest people, you help transform ideas and systems and you commit to leaving the earth in at least as whole a condition as you inherited it.”

    • Hi Christine,

      Thank you so much for the inspirational quote and for referring me to https://transitionnetwork.org/. I have already used the map feature on the site and see several people registered in my city alone! I know there must be lots of people out there, it will just take time to find them. I really believe that change will come from the success of smaller movements, community by community. That is why I am looking for other like minded individuals! Great to hear from ya!

Leave a Reply

