Al Gore & I

So I checked out the Climate Reality Project last night. I stayed up way to late, like until 2 am. I think they were in Hawaii or something at that point…

The whole thing ended tonight, with a presentation from Al Gore, so I had to tune in again. I wanted to hear him present on this issue after hearing him all those years ago in the Inconvenient Truth. I can honesty say that Al Gore was the one who opened my eyes to the climate change issue. I just was not aware of the importance of it before.

When I first watched the Inconvenient Truth back in 2006, it kinda hit home and I felt like I needed to change my ways a bit. So I grabbed a jiffy marker and a scrap of paper and wrote a list of 5 things that we should all do as a family, and put it up on the fridge. It went something like this:

  1. Use reusable bags
  2. Change light bulbs
  3. Recycle
  4. Turn off the lights
  5. What else???

I did some of those things from time to time. I was good about the recycling, but that was so easy since our municipality just has us throw every single thing that can be recycled into a blue bag and then toss it to the curb.  As for the other things on the list, I tried to do them, but over time, I mostly just forgot.

But still. My thoughts on the issue had changed.  I started voting for the Green Party.

So, Al Gore kinda has a special place in my greenie heart. Although I have come a long way since then, I heard it from him first. He raised awareness in a big way, not just for me, but for many people all over the world.

As part of this 24 hours of Climate Reality project, he filmed another video, titled “Grassroots”. It really resonated with me, so I need to share. Here he reminds us that the voice of the people is the strongest thing, stronger than any other special interest or power, and that when people stand together and draw a line in the sand and say enough is enough, change will happen. Look at Martin Luther King, the Berlin wall, Egypt… These are examples where people stood up for change against huge obstacles. It happened before and it will happen again.

This gives me so much hope. Please watch:

Related articles

5 thoughts on “Al Gore & I

  1. Thanks for posting the video. I really liked the clip showing a peaceful protest with someone holding a sign that read, “there is no planet B”. How true! This isn’t a case where there may be some negative fallout, and then we wait for the dust to clear. This is all we have, and we are digging our own graves. Or rather, our governments are digging our graves for us. We must act.

    • I found that clip inspiring too, seeing all the people march for change. We need more of that. WAY more. I am planning on marching on 350.org’s Moving Planet Day, September 24th. My first time!!

    • I love how he says “win the conversation”. It is about speaking up and not letting comments not based in science about climate change go unchecked. I so hope people get more involved, too.

  2. Great video! I started hearing about and studying climate change back in grade school! I have been blessed with teachers all along the way that understood the science behind it and spoke only the science. I speak openly whenever possible about the importance of this issue but unfortunately there are still a lot of people that don’t think it is that important.

Leave a Reply

